Johnny Thunders and Wayne Kramer’s GANGWAR flyer, live at Sam’s, Minneapolis, July 30, 1980

2 Feb

 

20170323_122416_HDR

Johnny’s cigarette butt, courtesy of Scott Grubich

JohnnyThundersSummer1980

JohnnyThundersSummer1980two

photos courtesy of Tommy Smith III

 

 

 

 

5 Responses to “Johnny Thunders and Wayne Kramer’s GANGWAR flyer, live at Sam’s, Minneapolis, July 30, 1980”

  1. Keith Patterson February 3, 2012 at 2:08 am #

    Wasn’t this show in the Entry? I remember it being a big deal, my brother went but I was still too young!

    • gojohnnygo February 3, 2012 at 10:20 am #

      They DID do a show the day before in the Entry incognito as “L.A.M.F.”.

      • mjp February 13, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

        That Entry show was a wonderful fiasco. Johnny going through some girl’s purse, setting off a fire extinguisher…acting the stoned fool. The next night they just hammered out a good, but not terribly memorable, set in the main room.

        Didn’t Husker Du open one (or both) of those?

        Anyway, it *was* a big deal, as Gangwar was pretty shortlived. We played with Wayne Kramer at Duffy’s a year or two later and he acted like he didn’t remember Gangwar at all when I asked him about it. Johnny probably robbed him somehow, or fucked his wife or stole his guitar…

  2. Kim Burns June 12, 2012 at 12:41 am #

    Does anyone have a copy of L.A.M.F? I sang “like a rolling stone” with Johnny the night they played Sam’s and a friend of mine just told me that there is a female singing with Johnny on the record. That record was basically songs from live performances. I used to have photos but have lost them along the way. If anyone has photos that would be great too!! I know my photos were from a local photographer in Mpls who covered a lot of the punk scene in the 70’s and 80’s but sadly I can’t remember his name. We were friends/ acquaintances. But I haven’t lived in Mpls since 1980 and I’ve lost touch with everyone. I hung out then with Dan who was instrumental along with Hartley in starting The Entry. If u have info for me Please contact me at axishair@gmail.com. Thanks, Kim Burns

    • mjp June 12, 2012 at 10:34 am #

      L.A.M.F. isn’t a live album. And there aren’t any covers on it. As far as I know “Like a Rolling Stone” was only recorded in an acoustic version and released on a single B side. But they put out about a thousand albums after he died so who knows.

      Your friend may be thinking of So Alone, where Patti Palladin and Chrissie Hynde sing with Johnny on some of the songs. Johnny and Patti Palladin did an album of covers, but “Like a Rolling Stone” wasn’t one of them.

Leave a Reply

