Thee Jay Hurley five-song cassette from March 1992

21 Jan

Stunned I was as I glided through this cassette. Jay and Ed Ackerson together (and Tommy Roberts too!). This is Jay post-Sedgwicks and pre-Hovercraft/Shatterproof. World class singing, playing, and songwriting- absolutely wonderful. Thanks to Jay for saying yes to my request to post these great songs.

To Sleep

A Drink in Hopes

Straws of Glass

No One is Breaking My Heart

Your Kind of Young

a cassette of Jay’s band The Sedgwicks

3 Responses to “Thee Jay Hurley five-song cassette from March 1992”

  1. kustomboy January 24, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

    Fantastic!!! Thank you soo much!

  2. Jon Hunt February 17, 2012 at 11:39 am #

    I had this cassette and loved it!! I know at least a few of these ended up as Hovercraft/Shatterproof songs, including Straws of Glass. I remember trying to learn the slide part on that song and kind of half-assing the hell out of it.

  3. Nick Tangborn February 4, 2015 at 6:48 pm #

    I remember this — haven’t heard it in years. Jay recorded it just before we moved in together if I remember correctly. Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

