Peasants’ Ritual 9-song demo cassette from 1988

23 Sep

Really great cassette featuring Jane Anfinson and Eddie Estrin. Jane’s website: http://www.janeanfinson.irruption.org

Thanks to Jane for giving approval to post this here.

Track 1

Track 2

Track 3

Track 4

Track 5

Track 6

Track 7

Track 8

Track 9

5 Responses to “Peasants’ Ritual 9-song demo cassette from 1988”

  1. Jaan Verschuur December 7, 2014 at 2:31 pm #

    Hi

    Im (Jaan) Verschuur of The Peasants Ritual

    The initiator of the group and keyboardist of the Peasents Ritual.
    It is to my surpise and humour to see this on here
    as I was reading up on Eddie and Janes more recent activities
    and reconnecting in letters to each of them.

    Some of this cassette was recorded in my attic, some in a studio Eddie accessed for us
    and some live.

    I had met Eddie when I had the musical project, “Subversive Pagans” going.

    Eddie and I created, Monkey Wrench which Julie Leese joined us early on
    until she left for New York to focus upon her work,
    besides playing with Imp Ork.

    Julie kindly intoduced Eddie and I to Jane Anfinson who started to explore with us.

    I chose to disband, Monkey Wrench to expand upon our sound potential and
    The Peasants Ritual was created.

    David Stewart joined us from time to time on added percussion.

    Jeff Hempel came in on Bass for our earlier performances,
    who had payed with me in the live incarnations of the Minneapolis family of Subversive Pagans.

    There was also a Peasents Ritual Family two,
    upon me returning to Minneapolis from living in Boulder Colorado for a time.

    Jane was no longer with Eddie and I,
    although wonderfully,
    George Peer on various instruments,
    J Vasques on cello,
    Eddie with his magical bag of found instruments as well as percussion
    and myself on Piano, Sythesiser, guitars, percussion. etc.

    The series of musical / performance projects are a personal philosophical / spiritual (no dogma) / political -social evolution,
    which after leaving Minneapolis I continued In Boulder, Colorado; Ecuador/ Peru; New eland and Thailand presently.

    Like Jane and Eddie immersing in their continuing love of creating wonderful music,
    Ive continued on with my own mostly solo and a few collaborative projects.

    Such group names and song titles addressing often whimsicially yet at the same time seriously things important to me

    I love to play with words…so the musical projects are,
    “The Chattering Table of Tongues”, “Smiling Lemmings”,
    “Worlds within Worlds” and my own musical production project for my own music and Djing project, ” Platipus in an Hour Glass Productions”.

    Any questions Im happy to freely share.

    platipusinanhourglasss@gmail.com

    Jaan Verschuur

    • gojohnnygo December 7, 2014 at 2:35 pm #

      Yes! Great! Thank you so much!

      • Jaan Verschuur December 7, 2014 at 2:57 pm #

        You are very welcomed. Thanks for promoting the wonderful music we co ceated together. I am very happy to of been in dear friendships and creative relationships with everyone involved and would love to reunite for some incredable music, sharing and fun

  2. Jaan Verschuur December 7, 2014 at 2:46 pm #

    Addition…If you are interested. I have the complete studio and live Peasants Ritual library.

    • Jaan V August 26, 2016 at 10:28 pm #

      It is with sad news that I share that my beloved close friend for the majority of my life
      and occassional, Peasents Ritual member
      Susal Stebbins
      has recently died of painful complications to her health.

      Susal played oboe and clarinet with the Peasents Ritual live and in the studio.

      I am with deepest thanks to her not only for her very close friendship
      but in the sensitivity, tenderness and strength she played with all of us within the group.

      For her death is a loss to thousands
      who lives she deeply inspired and touched
      in her personal life
      and her professional work with the Minnesota nuclear free e,
      NOW-the National Organisation of Women,
      as a support person for Tibetan refugees whilst living in Nepal.

      Susal I miss you incredibly.
      Death is simply a continuing journey.
      Not to be feared.
      For I was declared dead once and brought back to life.
      Living life more passionately then ever
      and knowing that death is nothing to fear, for my own experience of death I was in total bliss and awe.
      A deeply sensual and magical experience.

      Thank you all for listening to our music for for continueing support to Eddie Estrin and Jane Afinsons musical projects,
      as well as to my own muli artistic projects now happening various areas of South America

Leave a Reply

