The Liquidator! cassette- 1984 College Ska featuring a young Jim Ruiz

27 Sep

…before he was Legendary. I remember hearing about this band, and my friends & I were impressed how MOD hey were. Ed Ackerson recorded this demo on his Fostex four-track machine. As the group folded, Jim joined Ed in the vinyl-worthy version of The Dig along with Mike Reiter. “Pass Me a Beer” is a short original composition.  The track “Rudy Dub” is a masterful Dub-style take on Minnesota college-age Ska. Here’s where I wish I had a photo of the guys in The Liquidator. Thanks to Jim for giving me the go-ahead to put these tracks up for you.

Solomon Grundy A Message to You, Rudy   Guns of Navarone Carry Go Bring Home Pass Me a Beer Rudy Dub

2 Responses to “The Liquidator! cassette- 1984 College Ska featuring a young Jim Ruiz”

  1. Jim Ruiz December 3, 2010 at 1:20 pm #

    I’m surprised how good these sound. I’ll try to find a photo. There was a girl in the band – Shannon Wing. Where are you now Shannon?

  2. site June 7, 2012 at 1:25 am #

    This blog has lots of extremely useful info on it. Thanks for sharing it with me!

Leave a Reply

