Photos: Deniz Tek crash lands in Minneapolis, 1993

25 Sep

First of all a disclaimer: Deniz Tek is my all-time Rock n Roll Hero. No shit: fighter pilot, surgeon, Rock n Roll Star. Here is video of him performing with local legends The Spectors- I was the camera man.

Deniz came to town to deal with some personal matters & decided to stop by legendary record store Oar Folkjokeopus. The kind staff there inform him of a band with a sympathetic ear for Deniz’ legacy, so he decides to do a song with The Spectors at The Uptown Bar. I was on a job working construction when I got a beep on my beeper (remember those?) abut the upcoming evening’s performance. Luckily, right before The Spectors hit the stage, guitarist Dan Boardman handed me his video camera, so I got to do the filming on the YouTube clip.  The live photos were taken by Dan Miggler.  Here’s Deniz onstage & posing with some of my buddies afterward. Thanks to Dan for allowing me to put these up.

The Deniz Tek Group played The 400 Bar a couple years later, and Deniz Took me to Flying Cloud Airport to see one of the planes he was flying around. I took the plane photo.

4 Responses to “Photos: Deniz Tek crash lands in Minneapolis, 1993”

  1. Brad Beving October 25, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    I took a bunch of pix when Tek played at the 400 Bar in, what was it, 2002? I missed the Uptown gig but have a copy of the video. Top notch stuff from a top notch guy!

    And before I had ever heard a note of Birdman music I knew they were the coolest band ever just by seeing this picture:

  2. Brad Beving October 25, 2010 at 10:13 am #

    • KP March 20, 2013 at 7:12 pm #

      John- How did I miss these the first time?! Mind if I post the one of me and Deniz on FB?

Leave a Reply

