Swingin’ Teens “Throbbing Bop Machine” demo cassette February 1987

6 Aug

Of all the bands I worked with back in the Prospective Records heyday, The Swingin’ Teens have the fattest file folder in the cabinet. I released half a dozen records by these guys, and they were constantly on tour getting press. Their file is almost two inches thick of photos & reviews.

The Swingin’ Teens roared into town early 1987 opening for The Mighty Mofos at The Uptown Bar- the Batson Brothers had played with them in Iowa, and invited them up for the opening slot. They were the perfect band to see live for The East Side gang I was hanging around with at the time (Dan, Henry, & Joe) and myself. Kick-ass rock with a wild stage show.

Here’s a few songs from their first demo cassette- a few of the songs on the tape  eventually made it onto vinyl- the first two here did not & the third was their over-the-top first 45. Thanks to Johnny Random for allowing me to bring these to you.

Things of Past

Grynbriar

Gidget’s Bitchin’ Beach Party

10 Responses to “Swingin’ Teens “Throbbing Bop Machine” demo cassette February 1987”

  1. bard nards September 12, 2010 at 12:12 am #

    thanks for the memories dude!

    • reggie December 8, 2010 at 2:43 am #

      I used to hangout regularly with these guys in iowa city. it was a great time and some awesome music. a real party. where are these guys now?

  2. Yours truly October 5, 2012 at 11:53 pm #

    Are you Johnny Radar? Ramones – 1

    • gojohnnygo October 6, 2012 at 6:57 am #

      Nope, but I have his number….(it’s Random)

      • 45 Ft Under March 2, 2013 at 8:28 pm #

        I just uploaded a 7″ by them:

      • gojohnnygo March 2, 2013 at 8:31 pm #

        love the price tag on front- Albany, NY, correct?

  3. 45 Ft Under March 2, 2013 at 8:33 pm #

    Ha, that was quick! Close, but I think the record shop is in Saratoga Springs.

  4. Best Table in Hell September 13, 2014 at 1:08 am #

    Great guys. Got to hang out and share the stage with these guys in Mpls. on a number of occasions.

  5. Jim kaufman October 29, 2016 at 11:27 am #

    I’m sorry to say that Andy died in his home in Troy, MI on October 1st. He’s survived by his wife Denise and son Nicholas(11). I’m his brother (9 years older) and I came across this website while looking for information about the swingin teens. I used to watch him play at Gabes in Iowa City on occasion (before the “teens”) and he was truly a great guitarist. -he credits me with buying him his first guitar for Christmas when he was maybe 6 years old…a little plastic one. Even then he rarely put it down. After the Swingin teens I believe he was in another band called Heropig -but I can’t find any information on that one.
    Anyway, I thought I’d pass on the sad news to any who might be watching this site.
    Jim Kaufman

    • gojohnnygo October 29, 2016 at 11:36 am #

      Hats off, glass raised to Andy Kaufman. I’ve worked with hundreds of musicians, he was one of the most naturally gifted talents I ever met. -John Kass

Leave a Reply

