Sparrows. first demo cassette, May 1988

3 Aug

Dan Sarka, Pete Lockner & co. recorded some perfect pop singles and made the valiant attempt to become an underground club regular attraction in Minneapple-town before morphing into the virtually-gigless Vandalias. I remember one show that REALLY clicked live for these guys- opening for Soul Asylum at The Cabooze. Thanx to Dan Sarka for allowing me to put this here. Here is their first tape:

The Sight

Salt & Water

You’ll Never Know

6 Responses to “Sparrows. first demo cassette, May 1988”

  1. Todd November 11, 2010 at 2:52 pm #

    any idea on when that show (with Soul Asylum) was at the Cabooze?

    • gojohnnygojohnny November 11, 2010 at 5:13 pm #

      Todd- I’m pretty sure I have the flyer for that show, it is in storage. -Johnny

  2. Sarka March 24, 2011 at 11:37 am #

    Thank you for taking care of all this stuff, John, and for sharing it.

    I do not remember that handmade 8-track package mockup at all. And I haven’t laid eyes on the publicity shot in twenty years. And, until you sent me these tunes, I had no recollection whatever of “The Sight” apart from its name showing up on set lists from that era. Thank God there was a responsible party paying attention…

    I’d have to dig through scary boxes of memorabilia for the date of the Soul Asylum gig. I remember feeling lousy about that set — and I’m grateful that you felt differently.

    • rayspaceboy March 16, 2015 at 9:16 am #

      Hey to Dan Sarka– I heard ‘Smile My Caroline’ on a PowerPop comp and it’s really great man. Shoudl of been a 90s hit I say. Tough to find anything about Sparrows on-line.

      • Dan Sarka March 17, 2015 at 12:45 pm #

        Thanks! Now’s a perfect time to ask about Sparrows — in order to raise funds for our very ill brother Dan Boardman I’m putting together a collection of demos, live tracks and unreleased material by Sparrows (& other iterations of me and Pete Lockner). If you look me up on Facebook I’ll let you know when it’s available.

  3. Greg November 25, 2015 at 5:55 pm #

    Yeah, that Cabooze gig was special. Really loved it.

Leave a Reply

