Tang- Rochester, MN 1996 eight-song cassette

28 Jul

Jeff Galegher of the band Tang gave me this cassette when I was hanging out at Broadway Records in Rochester back in 1996. I remember listening to it as I drove home on Highway 52, thinking this must be the best band Rochester had produced by then. It still is true today, and others who would know have agreed with me. All I had for artwork along with the tape was a business card from Jeff’s job at a local pawn shop (with an address written on the back). Thanks to Jeff for allowing me to post this, here is their 8 song cassette. Thanks to Brian Strand for identifying song titles for me. Brian: “These songs were recorded at Pachyderm in the fall of 1996.  The only reason I know this is that Lastminute Records released a CD-R discography posthumously (either ’99 or ’00).  There are 11 more songs in addition to the ones you have.  Seven songs were recorded at the Warehouse in La Crosse and four demo tracks.  Cool band.  I never saw them live though.”
Son
Rout
Blind/Blister
Libido
Jana
Camaro
Regret
Swirl

6 Responses to “Tang- Rochester, MN 1996 eight-song cassette”

  1. Josh Turgeant September 2, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

    This Tang album is very near and dear to my heart. If there is ANY way to get a copy, I would give my left nut. Please help. Thank You.

  2. mt October 7, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

    i can provide you with any information you want to know… i’m friends with the majority of the people involved… brian, you are always surprising me.

  3. Michael R. Johnson September 2, 2012 at 10:24 am #

    Email me for more of our songs I have if you are interested.

    • Daniel McAnulty June 30, 2013 at 12:34 am #

      I am definitely interested. I had the CD for years but it has disappeared. If there is anyway you could help me get some Tang music back I would very much appreciate it. I loved the pla-mor days!

  4. Carl Di Laura January 31, 2013 at 3:09 pm #

    Followed Tang around Rochester to as many places as my teenage self could get into. Many a nights spent at the Pla-Mor Ballroom. Loved their cover of Boys Don’t Cry.

    I too would love to get a copy of these songs.

  5. Pat Kammerer April 10, 2014 at 10:40 am #

    Amazing to have run across this post! Tang was awesome! Pla Mor was a fun place to hang out in that era!

Leave a Reply

